

STAFF SENATE MEETING June 11, 2019 3:00 PM – Chestnut Hall 324

Meeting Minutes

<u>Officers Present:</u> Katie McCoy- Chair, Suzan Cruz- Chair-Elect, Devin Axtman- Parliamentarian, Karen Goss-Communications Coordinator.

<u>Senators Present:</u> Aaron Anderson, Allison Peeler, Amanda Bennett, Brandi Everett, Charlotte Cook, Chris Cunningham, Christina Brodie, Emiley Locey, Erik Trevino, Erin McKinnis, Jesse McBroom, Jessie Niu, Kayla Green, Lisa Cuevas, Liz Perkins, Louise Dunn, Margarita Venegas, Margo Watson, Megan Cunningham, Stacy Buchanan, Stephanie McDonald.

Guests Present: Amy Armstrong (URCM).

- I. Call to Order (5 minutes): 3:38 PM
- II. Speakers/Presentations (20 minutes)
 - i. None
- III. Consent Agenda Discussion Items (10 minutes)
 - i. Ad Hoc and University Committees
 - ii. Vote to approve
 - 1. No discussion
 - 2. Stephanie McDonald moved to approve, Allison Peeler seconded motion passed

IV. Approval of Minutes

- i. No discussion
- ii. Jesse McBroom moved to approve, Aaron Anderson seconded motion passed, minutes approved.

V. Constituency Concerns (5 minutes)

- i. Transportation and parking- Concerns over the newly approved rate change for Lot 8. The 'A' lot is not open till August 2019, and UNT Transportation Services is not offering refunds. Staff members feel it is unfair increasing the rate while not offering refunds to those who did not get value for what they already paid for.
- ii. Transportation and parking A staff member was requested to make additional payments to park a different car as permit for one car is not transferable to another.
- iii. Transportation and parking A pregnant staff member's request for a temporary upgrade to an 'A' lot was rudely turned down by staff of UNT Transportation Services, even though she was willing to pay for the upgrade.

VI. Officer Reports (10 minutes)

- a. Chair Report Katie McCoy
 - i. Orientation for New Senators will be held on July 9th, 2019.
 - ii. Election of new officers will be held on August 13th, 2019.
- iii. Call for nomination of officers: Chair-elect, Secretary/Treasurer, Communications Coordinator and Parliamentarian.
- iv. Promotional swag will be ordered before the end of the year.
- v. Note of thanks. Thanked everyone for their hard work and commitment to UNT Staff Senate which led to a positive experience.
- b. Chair-Elect Report Suzan Cruz
 - i. The new Presidents of GSC and SGA are Liz Smith and Yolian Ogbu respectively.

- ii. Positive feedback from Block party even though there are still efforts to drive down costs.
- c. Budget Report Josh Lukins
- d. Communications Report Karen Goss
 - i. No nominations for Staff Spotlight yet. Newly elected staff senators will be highlighted in upcoming months.
- e. Parliamentarian Report Devin Axtman
 - i. Winners of the last Staff Senate election have been announced.
 - ii. Special Election coming up before the orientation but no date yet. Nominations are still open.

VII. Staff Senate Committee Reports (10 minutes) -- these meetings will be held after the general meeting

- a. Standing Committees
 - i. Communications and Public Relations Charlotte Cooke, Emiley Locey
 - ii. Bylaws and Elections Stephanie McDonald, Corey Davidson
 - iii. Policy and Benefits Committee Chris Cunningham
 - iv. Staff Development -Louise Dunn

VIII. Old Business

a. Reminder: Nominate people for Staff Spotlight on SS website.

IX. New Business:

- a. Orientation for New Senators
- b. Committees to update all necessary documents in their possession in preparation for handover to the new committees. This will ensure that new committees do not start from scratch each time.

X. Announcements

- a. Call for 19-20 Officer Nominations voting takes place at August meeting
- b. Lunch & Learn: June 27 at Noon. Topic is the Mean Green Fund. Venue is Union 332 Senate Chambers.

XI. Adjournment: 4:02 PM

XII. Standing Committee Meetings